

TASMANIAN GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY ISSN 0039-9795

TUESDAY 23 MAY 2017

No. 21 702

Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries

REDISTRIBUTION OF LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL ELECTORAL BOUNDARIES

Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Act 1995 - Section 25 Notice

Determination of Boundaries and Names

In accordance with section 25(1) of the *Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Act 1995*, the Redistribution Tribunal hereby determines the names and boundaries of the 15 Legislative Council electoral divisions into which the State of Tasmania is to be distributed.

The names and boundaries are shown on the maps recorded in the Central Plan Register (CPR), Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment in Hobart, being the maps numbered CPR 10455, 10456, 10457, 10458, 10459, 10460, 10461, 10462, 10463, 10464, 10465, 10466, 10467, 10468, 10469 and 10470.

The reasons for the Tribunal's determination and the substance of the Tribunal's findings and conclusions concerning the Initial Redistribution Proposal and objections and the Further Redistribution Proposal and objections can be found at the Redistribution website: www.lcredistribution.tas.gov.au Printed copies are also available from the office of the Tasmanian Electoral Commission, Level 3, TasWater Building, 169 Main Road, Moonah. Phone 1800 801 701.

Section 28 of the *Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Act 1995* provides that the determination of the Redistribution Tribunal is final and may not be challenged or appealed against.

Mike Blake

Chairperson of the Redistribution Tribunal, 20 May 2017

Karen Frost Lisa Wardlaw-Kelly Michael Giudici Andrew Hawkey

Member Member Member Member

REDISTRIBUTION OF LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL ELECTORAL BOUNDARIES

Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Act 1995 — Section 29A

Transition Arrangements Notice of Inquiry

Public Hearing

The Redistribution Tribunal is to hold an inquiry, the subject of which is to be—

"Matters relating to transition arrangements to implement the redistribution of the State in respect of the Legislative Council."

The inquiry will be held in Hobart at 9.30 am on Thursday 8 June 2017 on the 3rd floor, Taswater Building, 169 Main Rd, Moonah

And in Launceston at 9.30 am on Friday 9 June at Tram Room 28, The Tramsheds Function Centre, 4 Invermay Road, Launceston.

Any person or organisation is invited to appear at the hearing, and/or lodge a written submission relating to the transition arrangements

Those who wish to be heard at the inquiry are asked to register their details online at the redistribution website, or to contact the Executive Assistant, as soon as possible.

Written submissions may be lodged online at the Redistribution website: www.lcredistribution.tas.gov.au, or sent to the Tribunal by post or email at the the addresses shown below. Written submissions must be received no later than 5 pm on Tuesday 6 June 2017.

Explanatory notes

The Redistribution Tribunal is required to determine the allocation of members to the newly determined Legislative Council divisions, the periodical cycle of elections, and other matters, if any, associated with the implementation of the redistribution.

Visit the redistribution website for more information on the redistribution determination:

- Details of the area and current and projected enrolment of the divisions
- Detailed information on the composition of the divisions
- Detailed maps of boundaries in urban areas.

Mike Blake Chairperson of the Redistribution Tribunal 20 May 2017

3rd floor, TasWater Building, 169 Main Road, Moonah PO Box 307, Moonah, 7009 Freecall 1800 801 701 Fax (03) 6208 8791 Website—www.lcredistribution.tas.gov.au Email—info@lcredistribution.tas.gov.au

Disclaimer

Products and services advertised in this publication are not endorsed by the State of Tasmania and the State does not accept any responsibility for the content or quality of reproduction. The Contractor reserves the right to reject any advertising material it considers unsuitable for government publication.

Copyright

The Tasmanian Government Gazette and Tasmanian State Services are subject to the Copyright Act. No part of any material published in the Tasmanian Government Gazette or the Tasmanian State Services Notices may be reproduced except in accordance with the Copyright Act.

Printed by Mercury Walch Pty Ltd under authority of the Government of the State of Tasmania